Tags

,

We’re getting lots of wind today. Whether it’s from Ike pushing his way north and east or just September shouldering his way along the path of time, I don’t know. I just know that I feel sorry for the maple trees out front, bending and twisting to try to avoid the abuse of the wind. Loose leaves and debris come blowing by my window while I sit and watch, somehow pensive even though the sky is bright blue and the day is beautiful.

Tomorrow is Monday again and I don’t know if I have the strength to put on business casual and a bright smile and go off to do battle against the evils of corporate culture once more. The worst part is that I don’t know if I fit in. I can’t tell if I’m doing well. Everyone smiles and mouths polite lies instead of telling the truth. Even me.

I feel hollow today; in stasis waiting for the next change, the next push to set the rock of my world tumbling out of sight over the edge of the next hill. I know why I feel sorry for the maple trees. I see myself in them. We’re both doing our best to stand tall and strong, buffetted by wind that could uproot us and sweep us away to something worse… or better.

Can you resist the wind and still embrace it?

