It’s been a long, long time since that last post.

The change that I’d been waiting for came, and then it came again after that, as it always does. My world is strangely altered, and yet the same, since then.

Josh has been gone now for three days. Today is the fourth. He flew to Pensacola on Sunday, for what I suppose would be called his best friend’s wedding (Julia Roberts movies notwithstanding). I’ve barely heard from him since then, which is to be expected I suppose. Lots of drinking and partying on the beach, from what I’ve heard. It’s been a nice reprieve. I knew intellectually that I’d miss him, even as I was interested to spend a few days alone for the first time in – what? six years?

I had no idea about the visceral reaction I would have, though. I would be sitting on the couch, watching television and I would look up at odd moments, expecting to hear the covers move in the bedroom. But there was nothing. It was jarring each time that it happened.

He is due back home today, though, in just a few hours actually. As a matter of fact, I have some shopping to do before then so I’d better go get dressed!

